Searching for Feather Alternatives

After chatting to some vegan friends I have discovered that you can get artificial feathers. I had no idea that there was such a thing! Although stopping the use of feathers in my work is no big concern for me (I’m really happy and relieved that I’ve chosen to be 100% vegan), it’s good to know that there are some good replicas out there that achieve the same feathery effect. They are mainly peacocky feathers and handcut ‘duck’ type feathers but I think they’re really quite effective.

The first picture is an artificial leaf, with fine tendrils & sprayed gold. I think this is really pretty & would work well for some of my large headpieces.

Artificial Feathers vegan craft
Artificial Feather
These are from saveoncrafts.com, a US site but I’m sure you can get some in the UK.
I also stumbled on some pretty glittery peacock replica feathers: 

This website has a great tutorial on how to make paper feathers. I like this idea though I’m not sure that this would work for my hats. Perhaps tin would be better for me. Hmmmm.

‘Pheasant feathers’
Fake Lady Amherst

This company  does a range of artificial Pheasant feathers. I couldn’t believe that they were fake at first, but on closer inspection can see that they are polyester. Fantastic!

That’s all I could find with a quick Google search, but there’s bound to be more. It just goes to show that it is possible to make informed, kinder choices when it comes to craft and design.

Leave a comment